Guest Reviews

Testimonials and Scores

Thank you so much to so many of our guests for sharing their experience online. 

We are very happy for the feedback and that our efforts to provide everyone with a memorable stay are appreciated.

JKJC
JKJC
3 November 2023
A Wonderful Place to Stay! My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in Paul and Karen’s canal suite for 4 nights in August 2023. It was the perfect place to call home while traveling! The suite was spacious and spotless with attention to any detail a visitor may need taken care of. Paul spent time with us at check-in to review all that the suite had to offer, local transportation, grocery shopping options, restaurants, attractions and more. The daily ‘treats’ were beyond delicious and so very much appreciated. We walked everywhere – center city began a mere 20-25 minute walk (through Vondelpark) away. Trams were readily available nearby and easy to navigate, but walking afforded us the opportunity to get a real feel for each neighborhood we wandered through. We loved coming back to a quiet neighborhood after a full day of touring. Restaurants are abundant both in the city and near the BnB, but we enjoyed relaxing in the suite’s solitude with take-out and a bottle of wine! A perfect end to a wonderful day. For everyone and anyone able to navigate an admittedly steep set of stairs up to the third floor, look no further - the canal suite is heaven. We were not able to take advantage of Paul’s boat ride through the canals because of rain. We look forward to booking that tour when we definitely return to our ‘home away from home’ at Paul and Karen’s one day.
Tana McGuire A
Tana McGuire A
27 September 2023
Amazing Accommodation I cannot rave enough about my stay at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam. This room was amazing and delivered all that the description had of it. This was by far the most romantic room I have stayed in. Fine attention to thoughtful detail coupled with some little extras I did not expect was just the beginning. The hosts were available for any questions and offered up suggestions that I was greatly appreciative of. There is a book in the room that gives you a breakdown of all of the must see places while there that came in very handy. I felt I really was able to maximize my time there with the book helping me to be sure I hit the must see item! I am planning another trip to Amsterdam and will most certainly be staying at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam again.
Global34184850315
Global34184850315
15 September 2023
Highly Recommended! The best and most comfortable stay of our trip. Professional, thoughtful, and welcoming. Paul was incredibly nice and informative.The breakfast and snacks were all delicious. The small details throughout this stay were much appreciated and made us feel like a priority. It is right next to Vondelpark, and a nice walk to the city center. Plenty of restaurants, quick service, laundry, and grocery nearby. Thanks so much Paul & Karen!
Dene H
Dene H
21 June 2023
Best stay in Amsterdam Our stay at Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam could not have been any better. We had the upstairs family flat for our group of 5 friends and it was perfect. We loved the canal view, neighborhood stores, bakeries, restaurants and location. We added the “fridge fill” so we were able to make our own breakfasts each morning. When we came home from a long day of touring, it was nice to find some yummy treats left for us. We also took advantage of the canal tour on the owner, Paul’s boat. The tour, info, and snacks and drinks on board made it a delightful experience. The only hesitation we had was the steep stairs up to our unit, but the owner carried our bags and none of our group-all 70 years old!- had any trouble with them.
Sarah Adams
Sarah Adams
19 April 2023
Lovely stay! 10/10 recommend. We absolutely loved our stay at Paul & Karen’s place. We were in the Garden Suite and it was lovely. I’m quite sure they thought of everything, including little touches like a pre-stamped postcard to send to loved ones at home, complimentary blackcurrant gin, little cupcakes in the kitchen in the afternoon, and anything else you could possibly need. They even gave us free passes to the Van Gogh museum, which allow entry even on sold-out days. The location is very nice; easily reachable by tram but in a quieter part of town. Only a 12 minute drive to the airport. Overall, 10/10 and would absolutely stay here again!
sabin215
sabin215
6 April 2023
Perfect! Absolute perfect with so many nice and cute little touches which are appreciated. From a few days before I called to check all is good and we can drop luggage off early ( and we could) to last minutes in person goodbye. Arrived in morning and Karen welcomes us when we dropped off luggage. Walking distance into centre, tram is also very easy. Lovely walk though the park. Nice to be near but could get away a bit in the evening. Nice to just walk around and relax. Loads of different restaurants around. Low to high prices. We stayed in one night and cooked. Supermarket about 200m away. Kitchen is simple but enough to make a simple meal. Also a HEMA shop a further 100m away in case you need any other daily essential. Nice little cakes in the afternoon to welcome us from a long day of walking. No complaints at all. Will definitely return and recommend.
Kelly K
Kelly K
23 March 2023
Great canal view! Paul and Karen are spectacular hosts...they left us with Dutch treats each day. The space, bedding and towels were very clean. The area was walkable and had everything you might want. This accommodation may be difficult for people with mobility issues due to upper staircase. There didn't seem to be an outlet in bathroom for hair dryers, etc. Overall, we very much enjoyed staying at B&B Amsterdam.
Olivia R
Olivia R
11 January 2023
Amazing Hosts & Beautiful Views Paul & Karen's place was an AMAZING place to stay in Amsterdam! It was right on the canal, and I loved feeling like I was living in a space that was true to the local style. The rooms were all clean & stocked with everything you could possibly need! We added on the breakfast fridge fill and a canal tour, and both were great choices. Paul & Karen went above and beyond - Paul accommodated the boat ride so that we could ALL attend (even though 2 of us had commitments that originally would have interfered), and Karen made such yummy snacks. They gave recommendations for anything & everything we could possibly need - we never felt lost whatsoever. Truly, this was one of the best (if not THE best) place I have ever stayed, and I would love to stay again one day!
Ecuabuckeye
Ecuabuckeye
2 December 2022
If I could give six stars, I would We have been staying at this bed and breakfast for at least 15 years. Due to frequent business trip and occasional personal trips to Amsterdam, it has been wonderful to find a "home away from home." The location is excellent with both easy access to parking (as I need a rental car for the visits), to key highways and streets, and to public transportation. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast alternatives work well for I often need to leave very early in the morning, and the hosts are very helpful without being obtrusive. On the same street and same side of the canal are good restaurants, supermarkets, bakeries, etc. in a very safe neighborhood. Just a block from Vondelpark, it also is good for walking or bicycle rental nearby. It is a gem of a place to stay.
Inspire30964655332
Inspire30964655332
26 October 2022
Horror Cobraron un servicio, se pagó y lo negaron diciendo que no aceptan niños. En conclusión se quedaron con el dinero y no lo devuelven. Ladrones. Nos quedamos sin hotel y sin el dinero ya que no lo quieren devolver
Nicholas Loomis
Nicholas Loomis
15 September 2023
Highly recommend, the best and most comfortable stay of our trip. Professional, thoughtful, and welcoming. Paul was incredibly nice and informative.The breakfast and snacks were all delicious. The small details throughout this stay were much appreciated and made us feel like a priority. It is right next to Vondelpark, and a nice walk to the city center. Plenty of restaurants, quick service, laundry, and grocery nearby. Thanks so much Paul & Karen!
Katie Essex
Katie Essex
20 July 2023
We loved our stay! Hosts were kind and easy to communicate with. The location is wonderful. Apartment was very clean and had everything we needed for a 2 night stay. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Mae De Sloover
Mae De Sloover
11 June 2023
We had a cosy nice stay on the last floor of this cute house by the canal. It's one bedroom plus two beds in the living area, with a very green balcony. Everything was very clean, with attention to the details that made it very pleasant. The location by Vondel park was perfect.
Stefan van Dooremolen
Stefan van Dooremolen
22 January 2023
Paul&Karen zijn voor mij de ultieme gastvrouw en heer! Ook als vrienden wordt je door hen helemaal in de watten gelegd en de vegetarische maaltijd had gastronomisch niveau.
Dean Rule
Dean Rule
2 December 2022
We have been staying at this bed and breakfast for at least 15 years. Due to frequent business trip and occasional personal trips to Amsterdam, it has been wonderful to find a "home away from home." The location is excellent with both easy access to parking (as I need a rental car for the visits), to key highways and streets, and to public transportation. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast alternatives work well for I often need to leave very early in the morning, and the hosts are very helpful without being obtrusive. On the same street and same side of the canal are good restaurants, supermarkets, bakeries, etc. in a very safe neighborhood. Just a block from Vondelpark, it also is good for walking or bicycle rental nearby. It is a gem of a place to stay.
Lina Marcela Palacio Arevalo
Lina Marcela Palacio Arevalo
2 November 2022
Borran los comentarios porque son unos estafadores!!! Devuelvan el dinerooooo. Por más que no hubiese reservado yo directamente , así estafaron a Daniela Pascali, donde no solo no le brindan el servicio sino que tampoco le devuelven el dinero.
Niklas Marksteiner
Niklas Marksteiner
1 June 2022
Fabulous B&B in a fabulous location!
Grimes Burgers
Grimes Burgers
26 August 2021
Everything great, nice stay. I heartily recommend
Matilda Eriksson
Matilda Eriksson
22 February 2021
Great service! Nice and clean. Absolutely wonderful.
Shinysol1 Rodriguez
Shinysol1 Rodriguez
7 March 2020
Fireplace and sink in room, super cozy. Quite private and good breakfast in bed in the morning. Friendly owners very detailed and thorough. Good bedding pleasant stay.

*As the Canal Suite is quite large, if you are a couple, you might prefer something smaller.
Check out the lovely double room of our sister BnB for 180-250 Euro per night: Click here to see photos!

Alexander
Alexander
3 January 2024
10
Wunderbar! ☺Sehr persönlich, sehr sympathische Hosts, viele kleine Extras, große Räume, sehr gemütlich und am Kanal gelegen.
Regina
Regina
31 December 2023
10
Exceptional
Juliette
Juliette
27 November 2023
10
Super ☺Merci beaucoup à Paul pour cet accueil et pour ces petites attentions :) Petit studio super agréable à vivre
Taner
Taner
6 November 2023
9.0
☺Ich hatte das Vergnügen, in dieser wunderschönen Airbnb-Unterkunft zu übernachten und ich kann nur sagen, dass es ein absoluter Traum war. Von Anfang bis Ende war mein Aufenthalt einfach perfekt. Die Gastgeber waren äußerst freundlich und hilfsbereit. Sie sorgten dafür, dass ich mich wie zu Hause fühlte und waren sehr aufmerksam. Die Wohnung selbst war einfach nur gemütlich. Sie war geschmackvoll eingerichtet und hatte alles, was ich brauchte, um mich wohl zu fühlen. Das Bett war bequem Die Küche war gut ausgestattet und ich konnte problemlos meine eigenen Mahlzeiten zubereiten. Das Wohnzimmer war einladend und der perfekte Ort, um nach einem langen Tag zu entspannen. Die Lage der Unterkunft war einfach unschlagbar. Sie lag in einer ruhigen Gegend, aber dennoch in der Nähe vieler Restaurants, Geschäfte und öffentliche Verkehrsmittel. Alles in allem war mein Aufenthalt in dieser Airbnb-Unterkunft einfach nur fantastisch. Die Gastgeber waren großartig, die Wohnung war gemütlich und die Lage war perfekt. Ich kann diese Unterkunft nur wärmstens empfehlen und werde auf jeden Fall wiederkommen, wenn ich das nächste Mal in der Stadt bin.
Attila
Attila
3 November 2023
10
Exceptional
Ciro
Ciro
22 October 2023
9.0
Una estancia acogedora ☺La atención y recibimiento de Paul fueron geniales. La ubicación del apartamento. ☹Mejorar la comodidad de las camas individuales por mencionar algo
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 October 2023
10
Great hospitality and location ☺ Hospitality was great. Special touches like providing local pastries and bread, museum passes, guidance on places to visit, attentiveness to our questions and needs.
Cristina
Cristina
29 September 2023
9.0
Fantástico apartamento y fantásticos anfitriones ☺El apartamento es muy amplio y corresponde a las imágenes que se ofrecían. La atención de Paul, el dueño, fue espectacular. Desde las indicaciones que nos dio al llegar hasta el desayuno que nos ofreció como un regalo para la primera mañana, pasando por el frigo con leche y cervezas y los pequeños dulces que aparecían en la cocina y sobre las camas cada día. En la cocina había hasta una botella de aceite de oliva virgen extra. Maravilloso. El apartamento está algo alejado del centro pero en una zona muy bonita, cerca de un gran parque y de la zona de los Museos. En la misma acera, a pocos minutos andando, teníamos un supermercado, varias tiendas, bares y restaurantes. También estaban próximas varias líneas de tranvía, especialmente la 2, que es la que cogimos más veces, y que te lleva al centro rápida y fácilmente. El apartamento tiene vistas a la calle y al canal, por un lado, y a un jardín interior lleno de plantas. Lastima que el tiempo no acompañara para salir a la terraza al terminar el día. Nunca me he sentido tan bien acogida y cuidada en una estancia, casi casi como si fuéramos de la familia. ☹El apartamento está en el último piso de una casa tradicional, con lo que la escalera, sobre todo el último tramo, era bastante difícil. Entendemos que formaba parte de su encanto, pero lo cierto es que subir o bajar cargado con maletas o bolsas era algo complicado. En la cocina, y dado que es un apartamento con todo lo necesario para cocinar, creo que vendría muy bien un lavavajillas. Así sería perfecto.
Dominik
Dominik
21 September 2023
10
Excellent ☺ Thanks to Paul and Karen we had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam. Communication and arrival was very convenient. We had a very warm welcome to the spacious, quiet and bright flat. The location is excellent, just a very short walk to Vondelpark and good Cafes and Restaurants right on the doorstep.
Gilles
Gilles
15 September 2023
10
Exceptional ☺ Everything went so smoothly, Paul and Karen are great hosts! They helped us prepare the trip, and were super helpful during our stay as well. The breakfast was so good and they made sure all of it was vegan (as we asked). Insane :)
Christopher
Christopher
30 September 2023
10
We had a wonderful stay! The host are great! If our travels find our way back the Amsterdam, this is the place we are staying! Highly recommend! ☺Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Rebecca
Rebecca
29 September 2023
10
We absolutely loved our stay. Our hosts were so thoughtful and even helped us celebrate a special milestone in one lives. I would highly recommend staying here, and can’t wait to stay again on our next trip to Amsterdam. Paul and Karen - thanks so much for your hospitality and kindness! ☺Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Mark
Mark
18 September 2023
8.0
☺Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Mark
Mark
10 September 2023
10
Paul is a great host, provided breakfast and gave recommendations for things to see and do! ☺Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Eric
Eric
24 June 2023
10
Way to go DUTCH!!! In life we need time alone to sort things out and this entire trip gave me what I needed, peace, tranquility, serenity, etc….great location, great host, BEAUTIFUL HOME, great time in Europe!! ☺Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Kathryn
Kathryn
22 June 2023
10
Very nicely decoratively and thoughtfully appointed apartment in a great location. There are restaurants and other amenities, including the fabulous Vondelpark, steps from the front door. The front door is across the street from a canal and is next to a busy restaurant, but the apartment is quiet and peaceful. Pleasant, helpful owners. ☺Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Frédérique
Frédérique
5 June 2023
10
☺Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Samantha
Samantha
29 May 2023
10
We stayed about eight different places on our trip and this was our absolute favorite. Lovely hosts, truly excellent location, and stunning place. So so happy to have stayed here and hope to be back someday! ☺Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Carly
Carly
18 April 2023
10
☺Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Christopher
Christopher
30 September 2023
10
We had a wonderful stay! The host are great! If our travels find our way back the Amsterdam, this is the place we are staying! Highly recommend!
Rebecca
Rebecca
29 September 2023
10
We absolutely loved our stay. Our hosts were so thoughtful and even helped us celebrate a special milestone in one lives. I would highly recommend staying here, and can’t wait to stay again on our next trip to Amsterdam. Paul and Karen - thanks so much for your hospitality and kindness!
Mark
Mark
10 September 2023
10
Paul is a great host, provided breakfast and gave recommendations for things to see and do!
Eric
Eric
24 June 2023
10
Way to go DUTCH!!! In life we need time alone to sort things out and this entire trip gave me what I needed, peace, tranquility, serenity, etc….great location, great host, BEAUTIFUL HOME, great time in Europe!!
Kathryn
Kathryn
22 June 2023
10
Very nicely decoratively and thoughtfully appointed apartment in a great location. There are restaurants and other amenities, including the fabulous Vondelpark, steps from the front door. The front door is across the street from a canal and is next to a busy restaurant, but the apartment is quiet and peaceful. Pleasant, helpful owners.
Samantha
Samantha
29 May 2023
10
We stayed about eight different places on our trip and this was our absolute favorite. Lovely hosts, truly excellent location, and stunning place. So so happy to have stayed here and hope to be back someday!

We hope to welcome you soon.

Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Sloterkade 65, 1058HH

Amsterdam, North Holland, The Netherlands

Your Hosts,
Paul & Karen